From: SPEAKERS

Cristiana Chiorino
Architectural historian, Turin


Cristiana Chiorino (1975), architect, graduated at the Polytechnic of Turin (Italy). She has then obtained a master in Conservation of modern heritage at the Institute of Architecture of Geneva, Switzerland. In 2005 she obtained the phd in History of architecture at the Polytechnic of Turin, Italy, with a thesis on the international exposition Italia ’61 in Turin and a monographic analysis of the Labour Palace of the engineer Pier Luigi Nervi built for that occasion. Her field of research as an historian is the architecture and engineering of the second half of the twentieth century. She has worked in the organization of important scientific exhibitions on architecture including Carlo Mollino (2006). She is now part of the organizing and scientific board and editor of the catalogue of the travelling exhibition “Pier Luigi Nervi. Architecture as Challenge” (Bruxelles, Rome, Turin, Copenhagen, Mantua, Salerno in 2010-2012) and upcoming in Lausanne and Zurich (2013) promoted by the Pln Project Association for which she collaborates as an advisor on conservation and protection of the buildings by Nervi now under threat. In 2011 she worked in the research project Prin “Art and science of building.Form and structure of the Italian architectural research in the Second World War” headed by the Polytechnic of Turin in cooperation with the Milan Polytechnic, the Iuav in Venice and the Università La Sapienza in Rome. She is member of the Council Board of Docomomo Italy. From 2005 she is deputy editor in chief of the monthly magazine “Il Giornale dell’Architettura” published by Umberto Allemandi & C.



Jürg Conzett
Conzett Bronzini Gartmann Engineer, Chur

Jürg Conzett (1956) studied Structural Engineering at EPF Lausanne and gradua-ted from ETH Zurich in 1980. After working with Peter Zumthor Architect, he estab-lished his own practice. Today he and his partners Gianfranco Bronzini and Patrick Gartmann are running a structural engineering practice in Chur / Switzerland. Most important works include: wooden bridge in Murau (Austria) (Arch.: Meili, Peter, Zu-rich); extension of Vocational school for wood technology Biel (Arch.: Meili, Peter, Zurich); Traversiner bridge and Pùnt da Suransuns, Viamala; apartment asn busi-ness complex Ottoplatz, Chur (Arch.: Jüngling und Hagmann, Chur); Voltaschool Basel (Arch.: Miller und Maranta, Basel); bridge of timber and concrete in Peiden Bad; stonelike bridge in Vals; bridge Aarestege Rupperswil – Auenstein.



Antón García-Abril
Ensamble Studios, Madrid

Antón García-Abril, (Madrid, 1969) is European PhD Architect, full-professor at MIT School of Architecture + Planning. Has been associate professor at ETSAM-UPM, and invited professor at GSD-Harvard University and Cornell University, among other academic institutions. In 2000 he establishes ENSAMBLE STUDIO developing projects that reflect the experimental and structural research of the practice, some of the built works are: Music Studies Center, SGAE Central Office, Martemar House, Hemeroscopium House, The Truffle, Reader’s House and Cervantes Theater. The office has been awarded with Architectural Record Design Vanguard Prize 2005, Rice Design Alliance Prize 2009, and Antón has been elected RIBA International Fellow 2012. Along with his partner Débora Mesa, he has been curator of the Spanish Pavilion at Venice Biennale 2012, has co-founded the Positive City Foundation, and more recently the POPLab (Prototypes of Prefabrication Laboratory) at MIT.



Shelley McNamara / Yvonne Farrell
Grafton Architects, Dublin

Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara co-founded Grafton Architects in 1978 having graduated from University College Dublin in 1974. Fellows of the RIAI, International Honorary Fellows of the RIBA and elected members of Aosdána, the eminent Irish Art organization. Teachers at the School of Architecture at University College Dublin since from 1976 to 2002, they have been visiting professors at Accademia di Archittettura, Mendrisio, 2008- 2010, EPFL, Lausanne 2010 –2011, held the Kenzo Tange chair at GSD Harvard in 2010 and the Louis Kahn chair at Yale in the Fall of 2011.They are founder members of Group 91, the architects’ collaborative responsible for the urban re-generation of Dublin’s cultural quarter of Temple Bar.Grafton Architects were the first Irish Practice invited to show in the Italian Pavilion as part of the Venice Biennale ‘Next’ in 2002, exhibited in the Irish group exhibition, The Lives of Spaces, at the Venice Biennale 2010 and won the Silver Lion Award at the Venice Biennale Common Ground exhibition 2012. Grafton Architects were winners of both the World Building of the Year Award in 2008 and of the World Building Learning Category Award in 2008 for the Bocconi University project in Milan. The Bocconi building has won numerous awards, and has been widely acclaimed and recognised as a seminal contemporary work. It was exhibited in the Mies Van Der Rohe Prize 2009 where it was one of the five finalists, and in the Building for Brussels Exhibition 2010. The Department of Finance building in Dublin’s historic centre won the British Civic Trust award in 2009 together with the AAI Special Award 2009. The School of Economics for the University of Toulouse 1 Capitol, was won by international competition in Jan 2010 as was the New Campus UTEC University in Lima in 2011.



Hanif Kara
AKT II Consulting Structural and Civil Engineers, London

Hanif Kara is a practising Structural Engineer, an Adjunct Professor of Architectural Technology at Harvard School of Design and the Visiting Professor for Architectural Technology at KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Sweden. As Design Director and co-founder of AKTII (est 1996), his particular ‘design-led’ approach and interest in innovative form, prefabrication, sustainable construction, complex analysis methods have allowed him to work on pioneering projects such as Phaeno Science Centre, Peckham Library and MIST at Masdar City. The practice has won over 250 design awards including the RIBA Stirling award for the Peckham Library, London in 2000 and for the Sainsbury Laboratory, Cambridge in 2012 as well as the RIBA Lubetkin Prize for the UK Pavilion at Shanghai Expo in 2010. Hanif’s career extends beyond the structural engineering disciplines and led to receiving the ACE Engineering Ambassador Award in 2011 and becoming the first Engineer to be a judge for the annual coveted RIBA Stirling Prize 2011. Hanif is on the board of trustees of the Architecture Foundation and a member of the British Council for Offices Technical Affairs Committee. He was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the Royal Institute of British Architects in 2007. From 2008 to 2011 he served as a commissioner for CABE (Commission for Architecture and the Built Environment); the first engineer to hold this post for the government watchdog that monitored the quality of design throughout the United Kingdom. He also served as one of 15 members of the Design for London Advisory Group to the Mayor of London (2007-2008). Hanif has been an advisor to the Aga Khan Development Network and was selected for the Master Jury for the 2004 cycle of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture, and also served as a project reviewer in 2007 and 2010.



Jan Knippers
Knippers Helbig Advanced Engineering, Stuttgart

Jan Knippers is the founder and partner of Knippers Helbig Advanced Engineering. He is particularly intrigued by complex shapes and parametrically generated structures, as well as by structures composed of membranes and plastics. He heads the Institute of Building Structures and Structural Design (ITKE) at the Faculty of Architecture and Urban Planning at the University of Stuttgart. He is the author of numerous books and publications, and a speaker at international conferences and congresses.



Christian Penzel
Penzel Architektur, Zürich

Christian Penzel studied Industrial Design at HfbK Hamburg and Architecture in Berlin at the Technical University and the University of Arts. For several years he worked with Marcel Meili, Markus Peter Architekten, Zurich. From 2003 to 2007 he served as Assistent Professor at ETH Zurich, program for Architecture and Construction, headed by Markus Peter und Peter Märkli, focussing on research and scientific works. He established his own practice in Zurich in 2004, and in 2008 an office for architecture and structural engineering together with Martin Valier in Zurich and Chur. He also serves as an advisor at Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts, and as author for books and magazines.



Fabian Scheurer
designtoproduction, Zürich

Fabian Scheurer (born 1969 in Munich, Germany) is founding partner of designtoproduction and leads the company’s office in Zurich. After graduating from the Technical University of Munich with a diploma in computer science and architecture, he worked as assistant for the university’s CAAD group, as software developer for CAD-provider Nemetschek, and as new media consultant for Eclat in Zurich. From 2002 until 2006 he studied the use of artificial-life methods in architectural construction as a member of Ludger Hovestadt’s CAAD group at the ETH Zurich and managed to transfer the results to a number of collaborative projects between architects, engineers, and fabrication experts. In 2005 he co-founded designtoproduction as a research group at ETH to explore the connections between digital design and fabrication. At the end of 2006 designtoproduction teamed up with architect Arnold Walz and became a commercial consulting practice, since then having implemented digital planning and production chains for projects like the Hungerburg-Funicular in Innsbruck (by Zaha Hadid), the Rolex Learning Center in Lausanne (by SANAA), or the Centre Pompidou in Metz (by Shigeru Ban) and many others. Fabian Scheurer has taught as guest lecturer/tutor at the AA in London and the IAAC in Barcelona. Since 2012 he is lecturer for Digital Modeling and Production at HTW Chur (Switzerland).



Georg Vrachliotis
Architekturtheoretiker, Karlsruhe

Georg Vrachliotis is interim professor for architectural theory at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Before, he taught and researched at the Institute for the History and Theory of Architecture at ETH Zurich. From 2006 to 2010 he was a guest lecturer for architectural theory at the TU Vienna. He studied architecture at the Berlin University of the Arts and philosophy at the TU Berlin and received his doctor´s degree from ETH Zurich. He is editor of the book series “Context Architecture. Fundamental Concepts between Art, Science and Technology”, Birkhäuser (with Andrea Gleiniger, 2008-), co-editor of “Structuralism Reloaded. Rule-Based Design in Architecture and Urbanism”, Edition Axel Menges (with Tomáš Valena and Tom Avermaete, 2011) and author of “Geregelte Verhältnisse. Architektur und technisches Denken in der Epoche der Kybernetik” (Springer Vienna/New York, 2011). Currently he is working on the research project “USM / Fritz Haller. A History of Abstraction in Architecture”.

From: REFERENTEN

Cristiana Chiorino
Architectural historian, Turin


Cristiana Chiorino (1975), Architektin, Diplom am Polytechnikum Turin, Master in Denkmalschutz der Moderne am Institut für Architektur, Genf. 2005 promovierte sie in Architekturgeschichte am Polytechnikum Turin über die Weltausstellung 1961 Turin und eine monografische Analyse des Palastes der Arbeit, erbaut von Pier Luigi Nervi für diesen Anlass. Ihr Forschungsfeld als Historikerin liegt in Architektur und Ingenieurwissenschaften der 2. Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts. Sie hat in der Organisation wichtiger wissenschaftlicher Ausstellungen zu Architektur gearbeitet, u.a. zu Carlo Molino (2006). Derzeit ist sie Mitglied des organisatorischen und wissenschaftlichen Kuratoriums sowie Redakteurin des Katalogs der Ausstellung “Pier Luigi Nervi. Architecture as Challenge” (Brüssel, Rom, Turin, Kopenhagen, Mantua, Salerno in 2010-2012) und demnächst in Lausanne and Zürich (2013), initiiert von der Pln Project Association, für die sie auch als Beraterin für die Instandhaltung und den Schutz der bedrohten Bauten Nervis tätig ist. 2011 arbeitete sie an dem Forschungsprojekt Prin „Kunst und Wisenschaft des Bauens. Form und Struktur der italienischen Architekturforschung im 2. Weltkrieg“, eine Kooperation unter Federführung ds Polytechnikums Turin mit dem Polytechnikum Mailand, der IUAV Venedig und der Università La Sapienza in Rom. Sie ist Mitglied des Council Boards von Docomomo Italien. Seit 2005 ist sie stellvertretende Chefredakteurin der monatlich erscheinenden Zeitschrift “Il Giornale dell’Architettura”, herausgegeben von Umberto Allemandi & C.



Jürg Conzett
Conzett Bronzini Gartmann Ingenieure, Chur

Jürg Conzett, geboren 1956, Studierte Bauingenieur an der EPF Lausanne und an der ETH Zürich, wo er 1980 diplomierte. Anschliessend war er Mitarbeiter von Architekt Peter Zumthor, bis er 1988 sein eigenes Ingenieurbüro gründete. Heute führt er zusammen mit seinen Partnern Gianfranco Bronzini und Patrick Gartmann ein Ingenieurbüro in Chur. Das Büro entwirft und projektiert Brückenbauten und Tragkonstruktionen von Gebäuden. Wichtigste Arbeiten: Hölzerner Mursteg in Murau (Steiermark) (Arch.: Meili, Peter, Zürich), Erweiterung Holzfachschule Biel (Arch.: Meili, Peter, Zürich), Traversiner Steg und Pùnt da Suransuns, Viamala, Wohn- und Geschäftshaus Ottoplatz, Chur (Arch.: Jüngling und Hagmann, Chur), Voltaschulhaus Basel (Arch.: Miller und Maranta, Basel), Holz-Betonbrücke über den Glenner in Peiden Bad, steinerne Dorfbrücke Vals, Aarestege Rupperswil – Auenstein



Antón García-Abril
Ensamble Studios, Madrid

Antón García-Abril, (Madrid, 1969), Architekt, ordentlicher Professor am MIT – School of Architecture + Planning. Er war Dozent an der ETSAM-UPM, Madrid, und hatte Gastprofessuren u.a. an der Harvard GSD und Cornell University. 2000 gründete er ENSAMBLE STUDIO und realisiert Projekte, welche die experimentelle und strukturelle Forschung des Büros widerspiegeln; einige dieser Bauten sind: Music Studies Center, SGAE Central Office, Martemar House, Hemeroscopium House, The Truffle, Reader’s House and Cervantes Theater. Das Büro wurde ausgezeichnet mit dem Architectural Record Design Vanguard Prize 2005 und dem Rice Design Alliance Prize 2009; 2012 wurde Antón zum RIBA International Fellow ernannt. Zusammen mit seiner Partnerin Débora Mesa kuratierte er den Spanischen Pavillon auf der Architektur-Biennale in Venedig 2012 und ist Mitbegünder der Positive City Foundation sowie kürzlich des POPLab (Prototypes of Prefabrication Laboratory) am MIT.



Shelley McNamara / Yvonne Farrell
Grafton Architects, Dublin

Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara gründeten 1978 Grafton Architects nach ihrem Diplom am University College Dublin 1974. Sie sind Fellows des RIAI, International Honorary Fellows der RIBA und gewählte Mitglieder von Aosdána, der bedeutenden irischen Kunstorganisation. Von 1976 bis 2002 haben sie an der School of Architecture des University College Dublin gelehrt, hatten Gastprofessuren an der Accademia di Archittettura, Mendrisio, 2008 – 2010, an der EPFL, Lausanne 2010 – 2011 sowie 2010 den Kenzo Tange Lehrstuhl an der GSD Harvard und im Herbst 2011 den Louis Kahn Lehrstuhl in Yale. Sie sind Mitbegründer der Group 91, einem Architektenkollektiv, das verantwortlich ist für die urbane Regeneration von Dublins Kulturdistrikt Temple Bar. Grafton Architects waren 2002 das erste irische Büro, das eingeladen wurde auf der Architektur-Biennale Venedig auszustellen, 2010 waren sie dort Teil der irischen Gruppenausstellung und 2012 gewannen sie den Silbernen Löwen im Rahmen der Common Ground Ausstellung. Grafton Architects erhielten 2008 den World Building Award sowie den World Building Learning Category Award für das Fakultätsgebäude der Bocconi Universität Mailand. Das Gebäude hat weitere zahlreiche Auszeichnungen erhalten, wurde von der Kritik gefeiert und fand Beachtung als wegweisendes, zeitgenössisches Werk; 2009 war es als eines von fünf Finalisten für den Mies van der Rohe Preis nominiert. Für das Gebäude für das Finanzdepartment in Dublins historischem Zentrum erhielten Grafton Architects 2009 den British Civic Trust Award zusammen mit dem AAI Special Award. 2010 gewann das Büro den internationalen Wettbewerb für die Fakultät für Wirtschaft der Universität von Toulouse, sowie 2011 für den neuen Campus der UTEC Universität Lima.



Hanif Kara
AKT II Consulting Structural and Civil Engineers, London

Hanif Kara ist Bauingenieur, außerordentlicher Professor für Architectural Technology an der Harvard School of Design und Gastprofessor am KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Schweden.
Als Design-Direktor und Mitbegründer von AKTII (1996) sowie aufgrund seines speziellen, designbestimmten Ansatzes, dem Interesse an neuartigen Formen, Vorfertigung, nachhaltiger Konstruktion und komplexen Analyse-Methoden konnte er an bahnbrechenden Projekten arbeiten, wie dem Phaeno Science Centre, der Peckham Library und MIST in Masdar City. Das Büro hat über 250 Auszechnungen erhalten, darunter 2000 den RIBA Stirling Award für die Peckham Library, London und 2012 für das Sainsbury Laboratory, Cambridge sowie den RIBA Lubetkin Prize für den UK Pavillon auf der Expo 2010 in Shanghai.
Hanifs Karriere geht über die baukonstruktiven Ingenieursdisziplinen hinaus und führte zum ACE Engineering Ambassador Award, den er 2011 erhielt, darüberhinaus war er 2011 der erste Ingenieur als Preisrichter bei dem begehrten, jährlichen RIBA Stirling Prize. Er ist im Kuratorium der Architecture Foundation und Mitglied des British Council for Offices Technical Affairs Committee. 2007 erhielt er die Auszeichnung Honorary Fellowship of the Royal Institute of British Architects.
Von 2008 bis 2011 war Hanif Kara als Kommissar bei CABE (Commission for Architecture and the Built Environment) tätig – als erster Ingenieur hatte er diesen Posten bei der Regierungs-organisation, die die Gestaltungsqualität im ganzen Land beobachtet. Zudem war er 2007 – 2008 eines von 15 Mitgliedern der Design for London Advisory Group beim Bürgermeister von London. Ebenso war er Berater für das Aga Khan Development Network, 2004 war er Mitglied der Jury des Aga Khan Award for Architecture sowie 2007 und 2010 Projektkritiker.



Jan Knippers
Knippers Helbig Advanced Engineering, Stuttgart

Jan Knippers, Prof. Dr. Ing.
Gründer und Partner von Knippers Helbig Advanced Engineering. Er beschäftigt sich insbesondere mit komplex geformten und parametrisch generierten Tragwerken, mit Entwurfs- und Optimierungsverfahren sowie mit Konstruktionen aus Membranen und Kunststoffen. Jan Knippers leitet als Professor das Institut für Tragkonstruktionen und Konstruktives Entwerfen (itke) an der Fakultät für Architektur und Stadtplanung der Universität Stuttgart, ist beratender Ingenieur in der Ingenieurkammer Baden-Württemberg sowie Mitglied in mehreren nationalen und internationalen Vereinigungen und Normenausschüssen. Er ist Autor zahlreicher Bücher und Veröffentlichungen sowie Referent bei internationalen Tagungen und Kongressen.



Christian Penzel
Penzel Architektur, Zürich

Christian Penzel. Studium Industrial Design an der HfbK Hamburg und Architektur an der TU und HdK Berlin. Längerjährige Mitarbeit im Büro Marcel Meili, Markus Peter Architekten, Zürich. Von 2003 bis 2007 Oberassistent am Lehrstuhl für Architektur und Konstruktion bei Markus Peter und Peter Märkli mit Schwerpunkt Forschung und wissenschaftlicher Arbeit. Seit 2004 eigenes Architekturbüro in Zürich und seit 2008 zusammen mit dem Bauingenieur Martin Valier ein Büro für Architektur und Ingenieurswesen in Zürich und Chur. Daneben Tätigkeit als Diplomexperte an der Hochschule Luzern und freier Autor für Bücher und Fachzeitschriften.



Fabian Scheurer
designtoproduction, Zürich

Fabian Scheurer (geboren 1969 in München) ist Gründungspartner von designtoproduction und leitet das Zürcher Büro der Firma. Nach seinem Diplom in Informatik (Fachrichtung Architektur) an der TU München arbeitete unter anderem er als Assistent am dortigen Lehrgebiet CAAD, als Software-Entwickler beim CADHersteller Nemetschek und als Berater für neue Medien bei der Eclat AG in Zürich. Zwischen 2002 und 2006 untersuchte er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am CAAD Lehrstuhl von Prof. Hovestadt an der ETH Zürich die Anwendung des Selbstorganisations-Prinzips auf Bauentwurf und Baukonstruktion und konnte die Ergebnisse auf eine Reihe von interdisziplinären Projekten mit Architekten, Ingenieuren und Fertigungsspezialisten übertragen. Im Jahr 2005 gründete er zusammen mit ETH-Kollegen designtoproduction als Forschungsgruppe an der ETH, um die Verbindungen zwischen digitalem Entwurf und digitaler Fertigung zu untersuchen. Ende 2006 tat sich designtoproduction mit dem Stuttgarter Architekten Arnold Walz zusammen und wurde zum Beratungs- und Planungsbüro, das seither digitale Planungs- und Produktionsketten für komplexe Architektur- und Innenarchitektur-Projekte entwickelt. Fabian Scheurer lehrte als Gastdozent an verschiedenen Architekturhochschulen, darunter die AA School in London und das IaaC in Barcelona. Seit 2012 ist er Lehrbeauftragter für Digitale Modellierung und Produktion an der HTW Chur.



Georg Vrachliotis
Architekturtheoretiker, Karlsruhe

Georg Vrachliotis ist Vertretungsprofessor für Architekturtheorie am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Zuvor lehrte und forschte er am Institut für Geschichte und Theorie der Architektur der ETH Zürich. Von 2006 bis 2010 war er Gastdozent für Architekturtheorie an der TU Wien. Er studierte Architektur an der Universität der Künste Berlin und Philosophie an der TU Berlin und promovierte an der ETH Zürich. Er ist Herausgeber und Autor der Buchreihe “Kontext Architektur. Architektonische Grundbegriffe zwischen Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie” bei Birkhäuser (mit Andrea Gleiniger, 2008 -), von “Structuralism Reloaded. Rule-Based Design in Architecture and Urbanism” in der Edition Axel Menges (mit Tomas Valena und Tom Avermaete, 2011), sowie von “Geregelte Verhältnisse. Architektur und technisches Denken in der Epoche der Kybernetik” (Springer Wien/NewYork, 2011). Zurzeit arbeitet zum Thema “USM / Fritz Haller. Eine Architekturgeschichte der Abstraktion”.